News & Media

News & Media

News Releases


Fourth Annual Distinction in the Arts will Celebrate San Antonio’s Creative Community on October 3

Posted 2 years 160 days ago ago by Javier Flores (WHO)


Javier A. Flores, Department of Arts & Culture


Fourth Annual Distinction in the Arts will Celebrate San Antonio’s Creative Community on October 3

SAN ANTONIO (Sept. 26, 2018) – In celebration of San Antonio’s Tricentennial, the 2018 Distinction in the Arts will pay a special tribute to all 16 previous honorees for their outstanding achievements in and contributions to arts and culture in San Antonio. This fourth annual event will take place Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2018 at the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts. The event begins at 6:30 p.m. and is free and open to the public. General admission seating is limited and can be reserved at A free reception will immediately follow the program as an opportunity for the community to meet with the honorees. 

This event, initiated by District 1 Councilman Roberto C. Treviño, honors those who have worked to advance and maintain the cultural vibrancy of San Antonio in the fields of music, dance, literary arts, visual arts, arts patronage, and arts administration. Distinction in the Arts recognizes artists, and organizations or individuals who have provided enduring and effective cultural leadership, displayed exceptional artistic accomplishments and/or have made a significant contribution and impact to the San Antonio arts community. 

“San Antonio is known the world over for its authentic and unique arts and culture. They tell our story, they celebrate who we are, and they help define us,” Councilman Treviño said. “The Distinction in the Arts Awards honor those San Antonians who help create and preserve our artistic and cultural treasures.” 

The Distinction in the Arts honorees are:
 - César Martínez – Visual Art
 - Dr. Carmen Tafolla – Literary Arts
 - Vernon “Spot” Barnett – Music 
 - Belinda Menchaca – Dance 
 - Russell Hill Rogers Fund for the Arts – Supporting Organization/Individual
 - Paula Owen – Arts Administration
 - Jesse Treviño – Visual Art
 - Dr. Tomás Ybarra-Frausto – Literary Arts
 - Jim Cullum – Music
 - Aaronetta Hamilton Pierce – Supporting Organization/Individual
 - Maria López De León – Arts Administration 
 - Vincent Valdez – Visual Art
 - Naomi Shihab Nye - Literary Arts
 - Flaco Jiménez – Music
 - Teresa Champion – Dance
 - HEB – Supporting Organization/Individual

Honorees are selected by the San Antonio Arts Commission’s Distinction in the Arts committee, comprised of local arts community members including: Rene Barilleaux, Henry Brun, Freda Facey, Valeria Hernandez, and Faith Radle. 

The evening will also include performances by The Jim Cullum Jazz Band, Westside Horns, Juan and Armando Tejeda, Guadalupe Dance Company accompanied by Mariachi Azteca de America, and Teresa Champion accompanied by Chayito Champion. Readings will also be presented by Carmen Tafolla, Naomi Shihab Nye, and John Phillip Santos. 

More information on the Distinction in the Arts program is available at


Background Color:
Background Pattern:
Friday, March 5, 2021