News & Media

News & Media

News Releases


Second Annual Distinction in the Arts to Honor San Antonians for Achievements in Arts and Culture

Posted 4 years 173 days ago ago by Javier Flores (WHO)


Contact: Javier A. Flores, Department of Arts & Culture

Second Annual Distinction in the Arts to Honor San Antonians for Achievements in Arts and Culture
Councilman Roberto C. Treviño Hosts Reception Honoring: Jim Cullum, Maria de Leon, Aaronetta Hamilton-Pierce, Jesse Treviño and Tomas Ybarra-Frausto

SAN ANTONIO (September 13, 2016) – The City of San Antonio will celebrate achievements made in arts and culture by San Antonians at the second annual Distinction in the Arts (DIA) awards reception. The DIA reception is scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 11, 2016 beginning at 7 p.m. at the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts. District 1 Councilman Roberto C. Treviño will host the Distinction in the Arts reception where Jim Cullum, Maria de Leon, Aaronetta Hamilton-Pierce, Jesse Treviño and Tomas Ybarra-Frausto will be recognized for their contributions and achievements in arts and culture. 

“San Antonio continues to receive national and international acclaim for its unique art and culture thanks, in part, to the many individuals and organizations that are committed to promoting and preserving local arts,” Councilman Treviño said. “This year’s honorees represent some of the best contributions to San Antonio’s artistic legacy.” 

Honorees for the 2016 Distinction in the Arts celebration are as follows: 
  • Jim Cullum is an American jazz cornetist noted for his contributions to the Dixieland jazz tradition. He established the San Antonio jazz club, "The Landing," in 1963, where he’s hosted numerous jazz legends. Cullum has performed at Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and Austin City Limits, and at other venues around the world.
  • Maria López De León is the Executive Director of the National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures (NALAC) and a well-respected cultural organizer and practitioner dedicated to strengthening communities through the arts. In January 2013, President Obama appointed De León to serve on the National Council on the Arts. In 2012 and 2013, she was named among the nation’s 50 Most Powerful and Influential People in the Nonprofit Arts.
  • Aaronetta Hamilton-Pierce is a distinguished civic leader and tireless volunteer who has spent more than 40 years as an advocate for art and cultural achievements of African Americans and for a myriad of social, cultural, and political affairs. She has served on numerous boards including those for the San Antonio Museum of Art, the San Antonio Performing Arts Association, the Witte Museum, and many others. One of her greatest honors is serving as Inaugural Chair of the San Antonio Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission in 1986.
  • Jesse Treviño is an artist known for his large-scale murals and sculptures found throughout the city, including “Spirit of Healing” on the façade of the Children’s Hospital of San Antonio in downtown, and the “Our Lady of Guadalupe Veladora” at the Guadalupe Theater. Two of Treviño’s works, “Mis Hermanos” and “Tienda de Elizondo,” are part of the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s permanent collection. 
  • Tomas Ybarra-Frausto, Ph.D. is an independent scholar of Latin American and U.S. Latino arts and culture, who formerly served as the associate director of creativity and culture at the Rockefeller Foundation. Ybarra-Frausto has served as a tenured professor, chair of the Mexican Museum in San Francisco, and on the Smithsonian Council. Among many recognitions, in 2007, the Mexican government bestowed “The Order of the Aztec Eagle” medal to him citing his life work in fostering cultural understanding between the United States and Mexico.

This second annual event has been led by Councilman Treviño with help from the planning committee of San Antonio arts community members including: Kathy Armstrong, Marisela Barrera, Adriana Flores, Felix N. Padron, Mark Richter, and Suhail Arastu. The support provided by the City of San Antonio’s Department of Arts & Culture (formerly the Department for Culture & Creative Development) has been integral to the success of the DIA Awards. 

The community is invited to attend this free event, but seating is limited and RSVP is required by calling 210-207-1436.


Background Color:
Background Pattern:
Friday, March 5, 2021