About Us

City of San Antonio, Department of Arts & Culture Logo

Poet Laureate

In April 2020, San Antonio Mayor Ron Nirenberg and the Department of Arts & Culture announced Andrea "Vocab" Sanderson as San Antonio's new Poet Laureate. Vocab will serve as the City's fifth Poet Laureate for a three-year term from 2020 - 2023. Click here for Vocab's biography and watch "7 Questions With Andrea "Vocab" Sanderson."

Though the announcement of Vocab as Poet Laureate occurred just as COVID-19 first impacted San Antonio, Vocab quickly pivoted to bring art to all when it was most needed. As a multi-disciplinary artist, Vocab's work has reached many within San Antonio city limits and beyond. Just a few examples of Vocab's work to create hope through art includes:

 - "My Tongue Is..." Challenge - "Nouveaux" music video  
 - San Antonio Museum of Art Poetry Postcard Project - Hope Rising TEDxPaloAltoCollege (Sept. 26)
 - Centro San Antonio Art Everywhere! Mural at Travis Park - "She Lives in Music" book 

About the San Antonio Poet Laureate Program

The duty of the Poet Laureate is to promote poetry and the literary arts in San Antonio and is tasked with developing innovative and inspiring public events and programs in conjunction with local organizations and the Department of Arts & Culture. The Poet Laureate also makes special appearances and attends various functions throughout their term. 

Did you know that San Antonio was the first major city in Texas to appoint a Poet Laureate? Former Mayor Julian Castro appointed Dr. Carmen Tafolla as San Antonio's first Poet Laureate in 2012. The appointment of a Poet Laureate has garnered connectivity among local literacy organizations, poets and the general public, expanding public awareness of the literary arts.  

Poet Laureate


Andrea “Vocab” Sanderson 2020-2023
Dr. Octavio Quintanilla 2018-2020
Jenny Browne 2016-2018
Laurie Ann Guerrero 2014-2016
Dr. Carmen Tafolla

Background Color:
Background Pattern:
Friday, June 18, 2021